As all of the South Side of Chicago knows, the Bud Biliken Parade happened on Saturday, August 14. Participants begin at about 35th and MLK and then promenade all the way down to 51st. Chicago was in a hot streat, so the 1.9 miles was difficult for some.  But I have to say, this was one of the best city parades I’ve been to in a long time.

Super hero sighting on my way to coner store to buy batteries. Mundane and magical collide!

I did not actually see any group in the parade donning outfits such as these, which leads me to believe that I did in fact have an actual Superhero Sighting. I tried to take in stride…

My Production Sound Supervisor, Benjamin Chaffee, and I decided that it would be a great idea to test our theories about recording live marching band performances on site – in the street – by doing a test run at the Bud Biliken Parade.

My sound crew: Ben Chaffee, Samuel Davis (also the vinyl LP producer!) James Smith, and Joe Grim. Lovely one and all. They only had to be at the parade for an hour, but hung for the morning and ate BBQ with me. A great crew really makes me look forward to the real shoots!

Hand of Polaroid photographer and the "family photo of me and my crew at the Bud Biliken Parade.

I also wanted to scout more talent — Julian HS and King HS – if you’re reading this – -I Love You! But in fact two of the very best bands in the parade were organizations that have already agreed to collaborate with me: MORGAN PARK HIGH SCHOOL,  and RICH SOUTH HIGH SCHOOL. I was SO proud when I saw them marching down King Boulevard, to be associated in this small way with their talent and majesty. I was snapping pictures like I was they mama. I can’t give Ms Nash of MPHS and Mr. Douglas of RSHS enough praise. They are the picture perfect example of why high school teachers and the arts must not only be funded and supported by made central to the pedagody of building young minds.

But I digress. BUD BILIKEN!

SPECIAL THANKS TO MY WONDERFUL SOUND SUPERVISOR AND AUDIO CREW: Ben Chaffee,  Samuel Davis, Joe Grim, and James, Smith.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

